Need help with Rejected pics

I'm testing a trial version of this sofware, and trying to make a decision to purchase it or not.  So far, I'm quite impressed but have issues.  Using MacOS High Sierra, and working with photos already in my hard drive.
I ‘rejected’  3 photos all in the same folder.  A new subfolder appeared underneath labeled _Rejected but with only one of the 3 rejected photos.  The other two photos, no idea where they went.  No problem.  I was going to delete them anyway.   The photo in this folder has no rating or label at all. 
 
I continued with working with several other folders.  Now I no longer see a new subfolder _Rejected.  Instead, the Rejected photos appear with a red Rejected on the top in the regular folder location.  I’d rather see Rejected photos in a _Rejected Subfolder.
 
In my Preferences, for Ratings & Labels, I changed it to Adobe Bridge, and selected Use XMP Reject Rating. 
 
Why is it that only once a Rejected subfolder was created with a photo with no Rejected Label on it, but all other rejected photos are kept in same original folder with a red Rejected label on top?  
 
What do I need to do for Reject photos to be moved to a _Rejected subfolder like the first photo I rejected?  Very confusing.  Maybe I changed something in Preference, but can't figure out what it is that it may be.
 
Thanks

Dear Sir:

Please check in FastRawViewer Preferences -> Copy/Move/Reject section that you are not using a global Reject folder and the status of "Allow move/reject for locked files". Please also check that the file is not locked by Photoshop, Lightroom, or some other application; and contact us at support@fastrawviewer.com

I think I've mentioned in my post that a _Rejected subfolder had been created.  As I understand it, it only happens if the Global folder isn't selected.  If I had selected, I would've have created a new folder in a location of my choice.
BTW, I'm not 'sir'.  I'm a woman.

Dear Madam:

I'm very sorry.

In regards to the global rejected folder you are right of course. The reason for my question is that sometimes one changes this setting during the session, and wonder why no more files are moved to the local folder. That may explain your "The other two photos, no idea where they went". 

Thank you.  Appreciate your taking the time to respond.  But no, I looked at it, but when it asked me to choose a folder on my computer, I decided it was a bad idea to damp all rejected photos on the same folder.   I looked in my computer's trash folder to see if they ended up there, but no, they didn't.  I will eventually find them in an unrelated folder I suppose, but they're to be discarded any way.  Have a great weekend.

And followup:

Reject rating and Menu - File - Move to Rejected are very different in nature:

Reject rating (or -1 star rating) is recorded into XMP sidecar file (and shown as 'Rejected' word in Grid/Filmstrip view). This "-1 stars" rating is used only by Adobe Bridge (FRV supports it too if this option is checked in preferences). If you do not use Adobe Bridge, Reject rating is mostly useless, because no other software will see it.

Menu - File - move to Rejected will move file/files into _Rejected subfolder of current folder (with default settings), or into Global Rejected folder if configured.

Despite of similar names, there are two very different functions (for Rejected rating we use name from Adobe Bridge, because it is the only program that uses it)

 

Thank you, Lexa.  That makes sense.  Appreciate your detail explanation.

Interesting  information.

Add new comment